Tuesday 16th of July 2019

Home Salvation The Five Phases of Salvation

Have a comment or question? Email us or interact on our facebook page!

The Five Phases of Salvation PDF Print E-mail
Written by Gus Harter   
Saturday, 12 October 2013 08:42


This was taken from a pamphlet written by Elder Gus Harter, with minor editing.


I. The Eternal Phase: This phase of salvation comprises God’s will, purpose and plan of the saving of His people. It occurred in the council of eternity past by the sovereignty of a triune God and is expressed in the doctrines of foreknowledge, election, and predestination.

1. Foreknowledge: The act of God in foreknowing in love a certain people based on God’s will and sovereignty, not based on foreseen merit. (Romans 8:29)
2. Election: The act of God in the election of individuals in the eternal life based entirely on God’s sovereign choice and not influenced by any works on man’s part. (Romans 9:11)
3. Predestination: The act of God in prefixing the destiny of His people to be made like Christ by the act of His sovereign will. (Ephesians 1:4-5)


II. The Legal Phase: This phase of salvation comprises God’s reconciliation and satisfaction of His Holiness in forgiving the sin of His people by the atoning blood of His son, the Lord Jesus Christ. It took place at the crucifixion of Christ about 33 A.D. The legal phase of salvation is expressed in the doctrines of justification, redemption, substitution, and propitiation.

1. Justification: The divine act of a Holy God who judicially declares a sinner to be righteous because Christ has borne the sinners sin on the cross. (Romans 3:24- 26)
2. Redemption: (Particular Redemption or Limited Atonement) Christ died only for the elect, and by His death He redeemed all for whom He had died without exception. (Matthew 1:21)
3. Substitution: Under the Covenant of Grace, Christ took the place of His elect as their sole representative and substitute, even unto death. (II Corinthians 5:21)
4. Propitiation: By the death of Christ, he forever satisfied God’s just and Holy wrath. (Romans 4:25)


III. The Vital Phase: This phase of salvation takes place in the life of a child when he is born of God, or quickened by the Spirit. It is clearly seen in the doctrine of regeneration.

1. Regeneration: The act of God in giving life to the child of God by His effectual call of the Spirit. This is totally the act of God in the quickening of, or creating new life in, those dead in sin thereby causing them to be born of God. (John 3:8, 5:25; Ephesians 2:1,10)


IV. The Practical Phase: This is the progressive work in the child of God after regeneration in conforming his life practically to the life of the Lord Jesus Christ. It is based on God’s mercy, but it is the only phase of salvation conditioned upon man’s obedience. This phase of salvation is best expressed in the doctrine of conversion and practical sanctification.

1. Conversion: The act of a child of God after being born of God in conforming his life, mind, conservation and walk to the teaching of the word of God. (Acts 2:40; I Corinthians 9:22; Philippians 2:12)


V. The Final Phase: This is the act of God in the resurrection and glorification of the elect of God making them completely Holy and kept in the presence of Christ forever. This phase of salvation is best expressed in the doctrine of glorification.

1. Glorification: The act of God at the end of time in the glorifying of His people body, soul and spirit to be made like Christ. God’s children shall then be incorruptible, immortal and forever changed into the image of Christ. (Romans 13:11, 8:30)

Last Updated on Wednesday, 05 July 2017 20:55


Copyright 2003-2015 - Marchtozion.com | Sitemap